R.I.P.R.E.M.

So after three decades, R.E.M. has called it quits. Is it a surprise? Not to me. But then again, I haven’t really been following them for the past years. Having said that, I am a fan of just about everything they did up and until 1994’s album ‘Monster’. Which, in my humble opinion, is a very underrated album.

Just like many people I got into R.E.M. when they had their major break through in 1991. I was 13 at the time, didn’t understand what the hell Michael Stipe was singing about, but I loved the melodies. A few years later, when I was 16 (nearly 17), my parents let me and a good friend travel to Denmark by ourselves to go to the Roskilde Festival. Headliner: R.E.M.

To this day, R.E.M. at Roskilde 1995 is still one of the best (if not THE best) gig I have ever seen. I’ve seen hundreds (if not thousands) of bands since, but that one stood out. Passionate, musically inspiring, great atmosphere on a beautiful night… It made quite an impression on the 16-year-old me.

Since then, I’ve seen them several times at various venues during different tours, but it was never like that one night in Denmark.

(can’t find any footage of that gig, so here’s their very first tv performance ever)

 

Say what you like

