A Trip Down Memory Lane

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve written something. My apologies! Anyway, I want to pick it up again and regularly post something. Starting with this little piece about a band called 7Zuma7.

Last Friday me, my sister, her husband and my father took a trip down memory lane. In the nineties, when I still lived in a small village near Eindhoven, the city was known as ‘Eindhoven Rockcity’. This was due to a festival like Dynamo Open Air, venues like Dynamo and the Effenaar and the large number of rockbands that sprung up around the city. Bands like Peter Pan Speedrock, The Spades, Tech 9, Candybar Planet and 7Zuma7.

That last band broke up at the start of the new decennium, after releasing a self-titled ep in 1997 and their only full album ‘Deep Inside’ in 1999. Crushing, melodic stonerrock that hits you like a truck. It really is a shame that they broke up when they did, as their live shows were absolutely amazing. I think I must have seen around 5 to 10 shows of them back in the nineties and they never disappointed me.

So when the news came that 7Zuma7 was going to play a one-off reunion show in honour of 40 years the Effenaar I couldn’t wait to see them again. It was like a big trip down memory lane last Friday. A lot of familiar faces, some a bit rounder or balder or with more grey hair… Eindhoven Rockcity was alive again, even if for just one night.

And again, 7Zuma7 didn’t disappoint me. It was pretty clear that they hadn’t played together for 11 years and it was quite visible that they were nervous, but as the gig progressed, they eased right back into it. Their stonerrock felt like a bulldozer was coming right at you, like in the ‘old days’. Loud, impressive, visually attractive (great custom made outfits again!) and with those great songs that definitely withstood the test of time. Unfortunately I had to miss my personal favourite, ‘An Instant Cool’, as I had to catch the train back to Amsterdam. But there was enough left to enjoy with ‘Velvet Slide’, ‘Blue TS’ and ‘On at a Time’ amongst others.

Unfortunately, this reunion was a one-off. I’m sure that with some more gigs, the bulldozer 7Zuma7 would be back at full strenght again after which they could reclaim their place as one of the best live bands in the country.

I can only find amateur videos of last Friday, but this one is quite good, so enjoy!

Say what you like

